Six Pleasantville UFSD Teachers Granted Tenure

The Pleasantville board of education made the recommendations official.

Six teachers have been awarded tenure, the board of education announced last week.

  • Christina Gibson (speech & hearing handicapped)
  • Pauwla Groenewoud (teaching assistant)
  • George LaMar (special education)
  • Joanna Stratigakis (elementary)
  • Lindsey Swerdloff (special education)
  • Staci Tedrow (special education)

Tenure is effective for all the candidates on September 1.

After unanimously voting in favor of the appointments, the board congratulated the teachers.

Board President Lois Winkler said, "Getting tenure in this district is not to be regarded lightly. Just getting a job in the district is an intensive process."

"A probationary teacher has multiple observations...it's quite a rigorous process," added Superintendent Mary Fox-Alter.


Like us on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter | Sign up for our newsletter


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »